South Oxfordshire

South Oxfordshire is a local government district in Oxfordshire, England. Its council is based in Milton Park, Milton.

The district was formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, from the municipal boroughs of Henley-on-Thames and Wallingford, Thame urban district, and Wallingford Rural District, Bullingdon Rural District and Henley Rural District. The Wallingford parts were previously part of the administrative county of Berkshire.

The River Thames flows for approximately 47 miles through South Oxfordshire and it is joined by the River Thame within the district. A characteristic of the rivers within the district is that they have wide floodplains with few houses on them so that fluvial flooding is a lesser problem than flash flooding.

Towns in the district are Didcot, Henley-on-Thames, Thame, Wallingford and Watlington, while villages include Benson, Berinsfield, Chalgrove, Chinnor, Cholsey, Dorchester, Ewelme, Goring-on-Thames, Lewknor, Sonning Common and Wheatley.

David Turner, Liberal Democrat councillor for Chalgrove


David Turner is the district councillor for Chalgrove, right in the heart of South Oxfordshire.  Chalgrove includes the parishes of Berrick Salome, Brightwell Baldwin, Chalgrove and Newington.


Sue Cooper, Liberal Democrats councillor for Benson and Crowmarsh

Sue Cooper



Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.