Oxfordshire Liberal Democrats

Vale of White Horse

The Vale of White Horse local government district covers the south-west parts of Oxfordshire. The main town is Abingdon; other places include Faringdon and Wantage. It includes parts of the Oxford West & Abingdon constituency and parts of the Wantage constituency.

It is a geographically distinct region, lying between the Berkshire Downs and the River Thames, named after the Bronze Age Uffington White Horse. The district was formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, from the Municipal Borough of Abingdon, Wantage Urban District, Abingdon Rural District, Faringdon Rural District and part of the Wantage Rural District of Berkshire. The southern border of the district roughly approximates the Ridgeway Path. The area is often referred to as the ‘Vale of the White Horse’.

The Liberal Democrat group is the official opposition on the Vale of White Horse District Council.

Our councillors include:


Leader: Emily Smith, District Councillor for Botley and Sunningwell

E: emily.smith@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 07986 877933



Debby Hallett, District Councillor for Botley and Sunningwell

E: debby.hallett@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01865 435794



Margaret Crick, District Councillor for Abingdon Dunmore

E: margaret.crick@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01235 523895



Jenny Hannaby, District Councillor for Wantage and Grove Brook and County Councillor for Grove & Wantage

E: jenny.hannaby@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01235 772778



Bob Johnston, District Councillor for Kennington and Radley and County Councillor for Kennington & Radley

E: bob.johnston@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01865 730209



Helen Pighills, District Councillor for Abingdon Abbey Northcourt

E: helen.pighills@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01235 534446



Judy Roberts, District Councillor for Cumnor

E: judy.roberts@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01865 864041



Catherine Webber, District Councillor for Marcham

E: catherine.webber@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

T: 01235 534001

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.