Oxfordshire Liberal Democrats



Oxford West and Abingdon Liberal Democrats (OxWAb) are one of the six local Liberal Democrat parties in Oxfordshire.  Oxford West and Abingdon constituency runs along the A34 from Kidlington in the north to Abingdon in the south. In Oxford it includes north and west Oxford and includes the parishes as far west as Appleton and Besselsleigh. The result is a constituency with a wide mix of students, city, town and villages.


The constituency includes parts of three different district councils: around half of the Vale of White Horse District Council, a fifth of Oxford City Council and the southwestern part of Cherwell District Council. This means that there are normally council elections every year somewhere in the constituency.

Layla Moran MP

Oxford West and Abingdon constituency was held by the Liberal Democrats from 1997 until 2010 when the Conservatives won by a very narrow margin of just 176 votes in 2010.  In 2017 Layla Moran went on to win the Parliamentary seat and again in the 2019 General Election with 53.3% of the vote share and a majority of 8943. Layla Moran MP is the Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Education. In March 2020, Layla announced her intention to run for election to be the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Party. 

To find out more about Layla Moran MP and please visit laylamoran.com.

If you are a constituent and need Layla's help as your MP, please email Layla at: [email protected]   

Vale of White Horse

The Liberal Democrats currently hold the majority of seats on the Vale of White Horse District Council with 30 of the 38 councillors. 

South Oxfordshire District Council

In South Oxfordshire District Council the 13 Liberal Democrat group councillors lead the Council in partnership with six Green group councillors, three Labour group councillors, three Henley Residents' Group councillors, and two South Oxfordshire Residents Team group councillors.

Oxford City Council

The Liberal Democrats are the official opposition on Oxford City Council, holding 6 of the 10 seats within the constituency.

Cherwell District Council

The Liberal Democrats hold two Council seats on Cherwell District Council, both in Kidlington. 

Oxfordshire County Council

There are 13 Liberal Democrat Councillors at Oxfordshire County Council, of which six are in the  OxWab Constituency. 

The constituency of Oxford West and Abingdon (OxWAb) comprises three local branches:

Vale branch - based in the town of Abingdon-on-Thames in the south of the constituency and the west of Oxford, including Botley, Cumnor, South Hinksey, Wootton, Boars Hill, Wytham, Farmoor, Appleton and Besselsleigh, all of which are within the Vale of White Horse District Council area.

Kidlington branch - based in the villages of Kidlington, Yarnton and Begbroke in the north of the constituency, part of Cherwell District.

Oxford City branch - based in the north and west quarter of the City of Oxford, including the communities of Wolvercote, Cutteslowe, Summertown, St Margaret's, Walton Manor, Park Town, Jericho, Port Meadow, and parts of Osney.

To find out more about our local party, want to contact any of our local party officers, or if you have any questions, please email us at [email protected]

Alternatively, most of our social and campaigning events are open to everyone. Please come along and meet us. Details are on our events pages.